Choose a language
4w 483 tire michelin e primacy en product in context 1 nosignature 16 slash 9

How to choose the right tyres for electric cars

When it comes to changing the tyres on an electric vehicle, it’s important to understand the differences between tyres for electric cars and those designed for a vehicle with an internal combustion engine. Discover the work behind electric car tyres, and how there’s a lot more behind that black, rubber exterior than you might expect.

Are tyres for electric cars the same as for combustion-powered cars?

Electric vehicles and traditional internal combustion engines (ICE) might look the same, they can sometimes even be fitted with the same tyres! Still, to maximise the benefits of electric cars, Michelin has developed tyres to fit them exclusively. Keep in mind that any of our tyre line is suitable for electric vehicles, even if MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV and MICHELIN e·Primacy, are specifically designed for.

With an electric vehicle fitted with tyres that are designed for it, the battery range, the preservation of silence in the interior are what strikes the most. In addition, as soon as you press the accelerator, you’re immediately at 100% of the vehicle’s power. Whereas, with a combustion-powered vehicle, the engine is powered gradually. This means the weight transfers are a lot more intense than with a combustion-powered vehicle.

These differences between an electric and an ICE-powered car have consequences on tyre design. At Michelin we design our electric car tyres differently to optimize the performances of the electric vehicles. The battery range, the silence in the cabin, and tyre longevity are optimized while maintaining a high level of safety and driving pleasure of your electric car.

Are tyres for electric cars the same for all types of cars?

4w 461 tire michelin crossclimate 2 en us product in context dry no signature 16 slash 9

As with an ICE-powered vehicle, there isn’t a one-tyre-fits-all option for electric vehicles. It all comes down to the purpose of the car. Michelin designs tyres specifically in regard to how it is going to be used. A tyre needs to respond to different driving demands, just like all other types of cars.

A driver of a sports car, for example, has very different expectations from its vehicle than that of a city car. This type of driver wants great precision at the steering wheel. They buy a sports car because, upon turning the steering wheel, they feel the vehicle responds. This is the driving enjoyment they seek. Thus, tyres for electric vehicle sport car must combine both electric vehicle specificities and driving precision.

The challenges for an electric sports car tyre

Achieving this sensation from a sports car tyre involves considerable research and development. A soft, unresponsive tyre that doesn’t respond as well as the vehicle affects the entyre experience, and the driver loses many of the benefits of the car’s sporty nature, hence the need for a sports car tyre specifically designed for an electric vehicle.

Electric sports cars have a powerful electric motor that provide instant torque and fast accelerations. To support these motors, you need to have a strong battery, and this results in weight. 400kg is the average weight for a battery in an electric sports car. With this amount of weight and power you’ll need to have excellent control of the car and pay attention to preserve the autonomy of the battery that will be downgraded by this additional load. The challenge is therefore mostly down to achieving the precise balance between control and the autonomy linked to the additional mass.

How do you know which tyres to fit on your electric car?

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tyre has been designed to satisfy the very specific performance characteristics required by electric sports vehicles.

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tyre innovates with increased cornering stiffness to keep handling sensations at the level of those of an internal combustion vehicle, with 15% more cornering stiffness(1) to compensate for the mass increase.

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV also offers 60km of additional range(2) while reducing by 20% the perceived noise level(3), to maximize your driving pleasure, for longer.

MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tire: Electrified road control, made to last | Michelin

For electric vehicles, the MICHELIN e·Primacy tyre can increase battery range by up to 7%(6). As well as all these characteristics, other performance such as wet grip and longevity are still high standard(7)(8), offering high level of safety.

Michelin also develops marked tyres with electric vehicles makers such as Mercedes-AMG, Porsche, Tesla. A marked tyre implies that all the car manufacturer's requirements have been met, this also applies to the electric car tyres.

Michelin adapts a wide range of tyres for electric car makers. You can recognize them by the tyre marking on the sidewall. 

New MICHELIN e.PRIMACY Tyre - Eco-responsible, made to last

Find your tyres in a seconds

LEGAL MENTIONS

MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV

(1) Cornering stiffness internal study conducted on a machine in 10/2020, on dimension 255/45 R19, comparing MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV versus MICHELIN Pilot Sport 4 SUV.

(2) Better battery range for HP EV - Rolling Resistance internal study conducted in 10/2020, on dimension 255/45 R19, comparing MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV (6.7kg/t) versus MICHELIN Pilot Sport 4 SUV (8.8kg/t). For an electrical vehicle of a mass 2151kg, with an autonomy of 540km, this gap of 2.1kg/t drives to a gain of autonomy of more than 60km, or more than 10% of the initial range.

(3) - noise disturbance - Internal noise measurement, done in 2016 on size 245/45 R19 on KIA Cadenza. Noise level measured on the range "170-230Hz". Results may vary according to vehicle, tyre range and size, speed and road conditions.

 

MICHELIN e·Primacy

(4) Rolling resistance test - Rolling Resistance tests conducted on machine by Applus Idiada, on Michelin's request, June (on new) & August (on 2mm buffed) 2020, on dimension 205/55 R16 91V, comparing MICHELIN e.PRIMACY (new: 5.58kg/t & worn: 5.13kg/t) versus MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 (new: 7.74kg/t & worn: 6.25kg/t) ; BRIDGESTONE TURANZA T005 (new: 7.17kg/t & worn: 5.81kg/t) ; CONTINENTAL ECOCONTACT 6 (new: 6.39kg/t & worn: 5.49kg/t) ; CONTINENTAL PREMIUM CONTACT 6 (new: 8,93kg/t & worn: 6,94kg/t) ; DUNLOP BLURESPONSE (new: 7.97kg/t & worn: 5.54kg/t) ; GOODYEAR EFFICIENT GRIP 2 (new: 7.01kg/t & worn: 5.38kg/t) ; PIRELLI CINTURATO P7 BLUE (new: 6.96kg/t & worn: 6.30kg/t) ; PIRELLI CINTURATO P7 (new: 8.79kg/t & worn: 6.97kg/t).

 

(5) MICHELIN e.PRIMACY category of tyres is defined as one of the Premium summer tyres such as CONTINENTAL, GOODYEAR, BRIDGESTONE, PIRELLI, DUNLOP brands, and which are not dedicated to Original Equipment application (i.e. not designed to achieve car manufacturers specific targets) but tyres that can be purchased from retailers.

 

(6) Increased EV battery range and CO₂ reduction - When new, MICHELIN e.PRIMACY generates 2kg/t on average Rolling Resistance less than competitors, equivalent in fuel consumption reduction of up to 0.21l/100km, equivalent of a gain in CO₂ emission up to 5g  for a VW Golf 7 1.5 TSI or equivalent of gain of up to 7% in autonomy for a VW e.Golf.

 

(7) Longevity - Longevity test conducted by DEKRA TEST CENTER, on Michelin's request, June-July 2020, on dimension 205/55  R16 91V on VW Golf 7 comparing MICHELIN e.PRIMACY (100%) versus MICHELIN Primacy 4 (102.1%); Longevity test run in average real usage (D50) with 14.460 km run and extrapolated longevity at 1.6mm. Test winner ADAC Summer 2020 235/55 R17 test performed by ADAC on a Ford Kuga in 2020. This test was performed in 235/55 R17. Michelin Primacy 4 is the best of 12 tested tyres according to tested properties (wet, dry, noise, wear, fuel consumption). Michelin Primacy 4 is test winner with the following comments: "Very balanced with top marks in the wet, excellent low wear, very good in the dry" - Ranked 1.0 in Wear.

 

(8) - Wet grip - MICHELIN e.PRIMACY is rated "B" on the Wet Grip Item of the European labelling scale.

You are using an unsupported web browser
You are using a website browser that is not supported by this website. This means that some functionnality may not work as intented. This may result in strange behaviors when browsing round. Use or updgrade/install one of the following browsers to take full advantage of this website

Choose a language
4w 483 tire michelin e primacy en product in context 1 nosignature 16 slash 9

如何選擇合適的電動車輪胎

對於更換電動車輪胎,必須了解電動車輪胎與內燃引擎車輪胎的分別。了解電動車輪胎的運作原理——黑色橡膠外表背後有出乎意料的奧秘。

電動車輪胎與內燃機驅動車輪胎是否相同?

電動車與傳統的內燃引擎(ICE)車外表似乎相同,有時甚至裝配了相同的輪胎!不過,為完全發揮電動車的長處,米芝蓮還是研創了電動車專用的輪胎。請謹記,即使米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV米芝蓮e.Primacy是特別設計的專用輪胎,我們的任何輪胎系列都適合電動車使用。

電動車裝配了專為其設計的輪胎後,電池續航距離、寧靜的內部環境,是最明顯的特點。此外,當加速器時,可立即發動電動車的100%馬力。引擎驅動車輛的引擎則為逐步驅動。換言之,比起引擎驅動車輛,重量轉移更直接、強烈。

電動車與引擎驅動車輛的不同之處,影響輪胎設計。米芝蓮以不一樣的方式設計電動車輪胎,以優化電動車的性能表現。電池續航距離、寧靜車艙、輪胎壽命經過優化,同時為您的電動車保持高安全性和駕駛樂趣。

是否所有汽車類型的電動車輪胎都相同?

4w 461 tire michelin crossclimate 2 en us product in context dry no signature 16 slash 9

一如內燃機驅動車輛,對於電動車,並沒有百搭的輪胎款式。一切須視乎汽車的用途。米芝蓮根據用途設計專用的輪胎。正如其他類別的汽車,輪胎需對應不同的駕駛要求。

舉例來說,跑車駕駛者與都市車駕駛者有相同不同的期望。這種駕駛者講求精準的轉向。他們之所以買跑車,在於扭動方向盤時,能夠感受到汽車的反應。這是他們追求的駕駛樂趣。因此,電動跑車的輪胎必須結合電動車的特點和精準駕駛性能。 

電動跑車輪胎的考驗

要呈現跑車輪胎帶來的操控感,需要深入的研究和開發。柔軟、反應較汽車遲緩的輪胎,會影響整個體驗,駕駛者也無法享有跑車的優越性能,因而有必要為跑車專門設計的電動車輪胎

電動跑車配備強勁的電動摩打,提供即時扭矩和迅猛加速。要支援這種摩打,需要強勁的電池,重量因而增加。電動跑車電池的平均重量為400公斤。有如此重量和馬力,駕駛者必須有出色的操控技術,並注意保持電池續航力——額外載重會令續航力減少。難處在於在額外載重引致的操控與續控力之間做到精準平衡。

如何了解電動車應裝配哪款輪胎

米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV輪胎的設計,符合電動跑車對性能方面的要求。

米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV輪胎的側偏硬度較高,增加了15%

  1. 使操控感與引擎驅動車輛相若,應對質量的增加。
    米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV亦提供60公里的額外里程
     
  2. 同時減少20%的可感知噪音水平
     
  3. 改善、延長您的駕駛樂趣。 

MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tire: Electrified road control, made to last | Michelin

米芝蓮e.Primacy輪胎可令電動車的電池續航距離增加達7% (6)。除了這些特點之外,其他性能特點如濕路抓地和長久壽命,皆屬上乘 (7)(8),提供高安全性。

米芝蓮亦與電動車製造商如Mercedes-AMG、保時捷、Tesla等合作研創標記輪胎。標記輪胎表示其符合汽車製造商的所有要求,而這亦適用於電動車輪胎。
米芝蓮因應電動車製造商製造多款輪胎。您可從胎側的標記辦識。

New MICHELIN e.PRIMACY Tyre - Eco-responsible, made to last

Find your tyres in a seconds

法律聲明

米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV


(1) 側偏硬度內部研究於2020年10月進行,輪胎尺寸為255/45 R19,比較米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV與米芝蓮Pilot Sport 4 SUV。

(2) 更佳的大馬力電動車電池續航距離 - 滾動阻力內部研究於2020年10月進行,輪胎尺寸為255/45 R19,比較米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV(6.7kg/t)與米芝蓮Pilot Sport 4 SUV(8.8kg/t)。對於質量為2151公斤、續航距離為540公里的電動車,2.1kg/t的差距使續航距離延長逾60公里,即較原本提升逾10%。

(3) - 內部噪音滋擾 - 內部噪音的量度於2016年進行,輪胎尺寸為245/45 R19,汽車為KIA Cadenza。噪音水平測量範圍為「170-230Hz」。結果或因汽車、輪胎系列和尺寸、車速、路況而有所不同。


米芝蓮e·Primacy

(4) - 滾動阻力測試 - 米芝蓮委託Applus Idiada以機器進行滾動阻力測試,日期為2020年6月(測試新輪胎)和8月(測試打磨至2毫米的輪胎),尺寸為205/55 R16 91V,比較米芝蓮e.PRIMACY(新:5.58kg/t,舊5.13kg/t)與米芝蓮PRIMACY 4(新:7.74kg/t,舊6.25kg/t);BRIDGESTONE TURANZA T005(新:7.17kg/t,舊5.81kg/t) ; CONTINENTAL ECOCONTACT 6(新:6.39kg/t,舊5.49kg/t) ; CONTINENTAL PREMIUM CONTACT 6(新:8.93kg/t,舊6.94kg/t);DUNLOP BLURESPONSE(新:7.97kg/t,舊5.54kg/t);GOODYEAR EFFICIENT GRIP 2(新:7.01kg/t,舊5.38kg/t);PIRELLI CINTURATO P7 BLUE(新:6.96kg/t,舊6.30kg/t);PIRELLI CINTURATO P7(新:8.79kg/t,舊6.97kg/t)。


(5) 米芝蓮e.PRIMACY輪胎類別,定位為如同CONTINENTAL、GOODYEAR、BRIDGESTONE、PIRELLI、DUNLOP等品牌的高級夏季輪胎,並非以應用於標準配備為目標(即其設計宗旨並非達到汽車製造商的特定目標),而是能夠從零售商購買的輪胎。


(6) 提升電動車電池續航距離和二氧化碳減排量:新的米芝蓮e.PRIMACY輪胎,平均比競爭對手產生少2kg/t的滾動阻力,相當於每100公里減少耗油量0.21公升,相當於VW Golf 7 1.5 TSI增加5克的二氧化碳排放量,或相當於VW e.Golf續航力提升達7%。


(7) - 使用壽命 - 使用壽命測試由米芝蓮委託DEKRA TEST CENTER於2020年6月至7月進行,輪胎尺寸為205/55  R16 91V,汽車為VW Golf 7,比較米芝蓮e.PRIMACY(100%)與米芝蓮Primacy 4(102.1%);使用壽命測試按平均實際使用情況(D50)進行了14.460公里的試跑,推斷壽命為1.6毫米。ADAC 2020年夏季輪胎測試優勝者,測試尺寸為235/55 R17,由ADAC駕駛Ford Kuga於2020年進行。測試輪胎尺寸為235/55 R17。米芝蓮Primacy 4的特點(濕路、乾路、噪音、磨耗、油耗)在12款接受測試的輪胎中脫穎而出。米芝蓮Primacy 4是測試優勝者,獲以下評價:「十分平衡,濕路性能頂尖,磨耗極低,乾路性能絕佳」 - 磨耗方面獲1.0評級。


(8) - 濕路抓地力 - 米芝蓮e.PRIMACY在歐盟標籤分級的濕路抓地力項目上獲評為「B」級。

您正在使用我們不支援的網頁瀏覽器
本網站不支援您正在使用的網頁瀏覽器。因此部分功能或未能正常運作,瀏覽時可能會發生不明問題。請使用或升級至/安裝以下的瀏覽器,以全面享用本網站的功能。