Choose a language
4w rt tire michelin pilot sport ev en product in context 1 nosignature 16 slash 9

Do electric cars need special tyres?

Discover everything you need to know on tyres for electric cars, how they are different to those fitted on a standard vehicle, and how the right tyres contribute to range, energy consumption and the overall driving experience.

Why do electric car tyres and standard tyres need to be different?

Electric cars are weighed down by their batteries, so they need tyres which can carry extra weight. While the battery of an electric car stores the energy, it’s the electric motor that provides the instant torque (and no sound inside the car!). With an electric vehicle, as soon as you press the accelerator, you are immediately at 100% of the vehicle’s power. This means the weight transfers are sharper, a lot more intense than with a combustion-powered vehicle. This also affects the impact on wear and tear of the tyres.

Michelin designs the electric car tyres differently to take this into account, mostly in the structure of the tyres and its materials.

The second factor that requires electric car tyres to differ from standard tyres is noise. But an electric car is silent, right? Without the noise of a combustion engine, the sound of the tyres on the road surface is much more noticeable in an electric car. So, manufacturers have to create tyres that are far quieter. Thus, perceived interior noise is reduced. Here’s an example: in an orchestra, when you have a drum and a flute playing at the same time you mostly hear the drum. But when the drum stops, the sound of the flute appears more clearly. The same happens when switching to an electric vehicle: the thermal engine which generates most of the noise disappears, and tyres road noise is more apparent.

For this reason, the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV (Electric Vehicle) tyres are equipped with innovative Michelin Acoustic technology which reduces the perceived noise level by 20%.(1)

The third factor specific to electric cars is the battery range and the risk of breakdown, especially on long trips. Through rolling resistance, tyres contribute to electric consumption, though battery range. The MICHELIN e·Primacy tyres is encouraging the transition to electric mobility. Its rolling resistance performance in the premium replacement tyres market improves an EV’s energy efficiency, thereby increasing its range by an estimated 7% or around 30 km for a vehicle with a range of 400 km. vs other tyres of its category (2)(3)

How do electric car tyres improve battery range?

Fitting your car with electric car tyres ensures you get optimal battery range.

How do tyres improve range? Keep in mind that to move an object, you need to give it energy. And between the energy it receives and the energy it gives back in the form of displacement, there is always a loss because the object rubs on the ground. This is called rolling resistance.

One of the objectives of tyres manufacturers is to limit this energy loss in order to optimize energy efficiency and reduce unnecessary energy consumption. And, when it comes to electric vehicles, the more energy is optimized, the more range the vehicle has to play with!

When choosing your tyres, you can check on the tyres labelling to get the lowest rolling resistance and benefit from its performance to drive for longer with one charging.

Do electric vehicles cause more wear and tear to tyres?

The biggest factor for electric cars, when compared to normal cars, is the dynamic load transfers and braking torque linked to this specific kind of engine. This is a challenge for manufacturers because the mass and the torque increase require tyres with more lateral rigidity (cornering stiffness), to maintain the handling sensation at an important level, a strong grip to allow acceleration, and a good longevity to resist wear mile after mile as well.

Battery weight is an important issue for electric sports cars. If you have a powerful electric motor, you need to have a strong battery, and this results in weight. 400kg is the average weight for a battery in an electric sports car.

Today car makers propose two kinds of electric vehicles:

  • Regular vehicles retrofitted to become electric
  • Brand new platform
     

In the case of regular vehicle retrofitted, usually tyres size does not change much compared to ICE (Internal Combustion Engine). Thus, wear may happen faster than ICE.

For brand new platform, mass and torque are considered from the beginning, tyres size is adjusted and usually quite bigger than equivalent ICE. Wear will be similar to ICE.

Why are there different tyre options for electric vehicles?

It’s crucial to have the right tyres for an electric car, depending on its type. A tyres needs to respond to different driving demands. A driver of a sports car wants fast accelerations, great torque transmission and high precision at the steering wheel. A driver of a sedan is more looking for safety and driving comfort.

Michelin has created two ranges of specific tyres for electric carsMICHELIN Pilot Sport EV and MICHELIN e·Primacy. Each range offers different performance balances depending on what you are looking for.

How do I prolong the life of my electric car tyres?

4w rt tire michelin pilot sport ev en product in use nosignature 16 slash 9

As for any other tyres, there are two main ways you can protect your electric car tyres and thereby optimize their lifetime: maintenance and driving style.

Electric tyres maintenance involves monitoring the pressure, alignment and wear. This type of tyres tends to wear on the inside edge of the electric car wheel, so this should be checked regularly. The pressure should also be adapted depending on the load being carried. But how to find out the ideal tyres pressure? It’s simple! Cars get a sticker from the manufacturer which indicates the recommended pressure for specific sizes of car tyres. There are also recommendations according to whether the car is loaded or not.

Eco-driving is an expression we hear more and more these days, and with good reason. With the objective of reducing energy consumption, the right driving style not only maximizes the range of an electric vehicle, it also optimizes tyres quality and performance.

In summary, driving style is particularly important. Use moderate acceleration and gentle, regenerative braking. Take corners carefully. That’s the best way to extend the battery range, and the longevity of your electric car tyres.

In conclusion, while it’s always a good idea to fit your electric car with tyres that are specially made for it, remember our non-electric specific offers are also very efficient for electric vehicles! Ultimately, we’re sure you’ll find the right tyres that fits your car and driving style with the help of your dealer and MICHELIN tyre selector.

LEGAL MENTIONS

(1) Internal noise measurement, done in 2016 on size 245/45 R19 on KIA Cadenza. Noise level measured in the range "170-230Hz". Results may vary according to vehicle, tyres range and size, speed and road conditions.

 

(2) - MICHELIN e·PRIMACY category of tyres is defined as one of the Premium summer tyres such as CONTINENTAL, GOODYEAR, BRIDGESTONE, PIRELLI, DUNLOP brands, and which are not dedicated to Original Equipment application (i.e. not designed to achieve car manufacturers specific targets) but tyres that can be purchased from retailers.

Increased EV battery range and CO₂ reduction - When new, MICHELIN e·PRIMACY generates 2kg/t on average Rolling Resistance less than competitors, equivalent in fuel consumption reduction of up to 0.21l/100km, equivalent of a gain in CO2 emission up to 5g for a VW Golf 7 1.5 TSI or equivalent of gain of up to 7% in autonomy for a VW e.Golf.

 

(3) - Rolling Resistance internal study conducted in 10/2020, on dimension 255/45 R19, comparing MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV (6.7kg/t) versus MICHELIN Pilot Sport 4 SUV (8.8kg/t). For an electrical vehicle of a mass 2151kg, with an autonomy of 540km, this gap of 2.1kg/t drives to a gain of autonomy of more than 60km, or more than 10% of the initial range.

You are using an unsupported web browser
You are using a website browser that is not supported by this website. This means that some functionnality may not work as intented. This may result in strange behaviors when browsing round. Use or updgrade/install one of the following browsers to take full advantage of this website

Choose a language
4w rt tire michelin pilot sport ev en product in context 1 nosignature 16 slash 9

電動車需要專用輪胎嗎? 

探索關於電動車輪胎的須知,了解其與標準汽車輪胎的差別,以及合適的輪胎如何影響里程、能源消耗和整體駕駛體驗。

為何電動車輪胎與標準輪胎有所不同? 

電動車因配備電池而較重,需要能夠承受更多重量的輪胎。電動車的電池負責儲存動力,電動摩打則提供即時的扭力(車內更沒有噪音!)。當加速時,可立即發動電動車的100%馬力。換言之,比起引擎驅動車輛,重量轉移更直接、強烈。這還會影響輪胎的磨耗。

米芝蓮考慮到這方面,以不一樣的方式設計電動車輪胎,特別是輪胎結構、物料方面。

電動車輪胎與標準輪胎必須有所不同的第二個因素,在於噪音。然而,電動車很寧靜,對吧?電動車內沒有內燃引擎的噪音,輪胎接觸路面的聲音更為明顯。因此,製造商必須製作更加寧靜的輪胎。可感知的內部噪音因而減少。

舉例來說,管弦樂團演奏時,當鼓和長笛同時奏起,您聽到的大部分是鼓聲;而當鼓聲停止,笛聲便更加清晰。改用電動車後,也有同樣效果:由引擎產生的大部分噪音消失了,輪胎的路面噪聲變得更明顯。

因此,米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV(Electric Vehicle,即電動車)輪胎配備創新的米芝蓮Acoustic靜音技術,減少可感知噪音達20%。 (1)

第三個與電動車相關的因素是電動車里程和故障的風險,尤其是長途駕駛時。輪胎的滾動阻力會消耗動力,從而影響電池續航距離。

米芝蓮e.PRIMACY輪胎是鼓勵大眾轉用電動車的產品。這款輪胎在高級替換輪胎市場內的滾動阻力表現,可改善電動車的能量效率,與同類別其他輪胎比較,估計可將能夠行駛400公里的汽車的續航距離提升7%,即約30公里 (2)(3)

電動車輪胎如何改善電池續航距離?  

為汽車裝配電動車輪胎,可確保理想的電池續航距離。輪胎如何改善續航距離?要移動物體,便需要對物體施加能量。由於物體與地面磨擦,因此在物體獲得的能量與其以移位的能量之間,必然有損失的能量。這就是所謂的滾動阻力。

輪胎製造商的目標之一,便是限制能量損失,優化能量效率,減少不必要的能量消耗。對於電動車來說,優化的能量越多,汽車的續航距離便越長!

選擇輪胎時,可查看輪胎標記,了解其最低滾動阻力,享用其優良性能,每次充電後都可行駛更遠距離。

電動車會為輪胎造成更多的磨耗嗎?

與一般汽車比較,電動車輪胎磨耗的最大因素,關係於動態負載轉移和剎車扭矩。這為製造商帶來考驗,因為質量和扭矩的增加,需要具有更高橫向硬度(側偏硬度)的輪胎,才可維持高水平的駕駛感、加速所需的良好抓地力,以及頑抗磨耗的長久壽命。

對於電動跑車來說,電池重量非常重要。有強勁的電動摩打,便需要強勁的電池,重量因而增加。電動跑車電池的平均重量為400公斤。

現今的汽車製造商提供兩種電動車:

  • 翻新成電動車的一般汽車
  • 全新電動車


翻新成電動車的一般汽車,其輪胎尺寸相較於ICE(Internal Combustion Engine,即內燃引擎)汽車,通常差別不大。因此,磨耗通常比ICE快。
全新電動車方面,一開始已考慮到其質量和扭矩,輪胎尺寸經過調整,通常較相等的ICE為大,其磨耗與ICE相若。

為何電動車有各種不同的輪胎選擇? 

我們必須根據類別選擇正確的電動車輪胎。輪胎需對應不同的駕駛需求。跑車駕駛者講求迅猛加速、快速的扭矩傳遞、精準的轉向。轎車駕駛者則較講求安全和駕駛舒適感。

米芝蓮製造兩個系列的專用電動車輪胎:米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV米芝蓮e.PRIMACY。各系列根據您的需求提供不同的性能平衡度。 

如何延長電動車輪胎的壽命?

和其他輪胎一樣,要保護電動車輪胎,優化其使用壽命,有兩個主要方法:保養和駕駛風格。

電動車輪胎的保養包括監察胎壓、四輪定位和磨耗電動車輪胎的磨耗傾向內側邊緣,應定期檢查。此外,應根據載重調整胎壓。

但應如何找出理想的胎壓?很簡單!汽車上有製造商的貼紙,顯示根據不同輪胎尺寸建議的胎壓,亦有根據汽車有沒有載重而建議的胎壓。

「節能駕駛」的概念日益流行,原因不難理解。正確的駕駛風格,目的在於減少能源消耗,不僅可延長電動車的續航距離,還可優化輪胎的品質和性能表現


總的來說,駕駛風格特別重要。慢慢加速,使用剎車再生能源技術。小心轉彎。這就是延長電池續航距離和電動車輪胎壽命的最佳方式。 

總而言之,為電動車裝配電動車專用的輪胎,固然是好主意,也請謹記,我們的非電動車專用產品也可為電動車帶來高效率!有了經銷商和米芝蓮輪胎選擇工具的協助,相信您必定可找到與您的汽車相配的正確輪胎和駕駛風格。

Find your tyres in a seconds

法律聲明

(1) 內部噪音的量度於2016年進行,輪胎尺寸為245/45 R19,汽車為KIA Cadenza。噪音水平測量範圍為「170-230Hz」。結果或因汽車、輪胎系列和尺寸、車速、路況而有所不同。

(2) - 米芝蓮e.PRIMACY輪胎類別,定位為如同CONTINENTAL、GOODYEAR、BRIDGESTONE、PIRELLI、DUNLOP等品牌的高級夏季輪胎,並非以應用於標準配備為目標(即其設計宗旨並非達到汽車製造商的特定目標),而是能夠從零售商購買的輪胎。


(3) - 滾動阻力內部研究於2020年10月進行,輪胎尺寸為255/45 R19,比較米芝蓮Pilot Sport EV(6.7kg/t)與米芝蓮Pilot Sport 4 SUV(8.8kg/t)。對於質量為2151公斤、續航距離為540公里的電動車,2.1kg/t的差距使續航距離延長逾60公里,即較原本提升逾10%。


(2) - 提升電動車電池續航距離和二氧化碳減排量:新的米芝蓮e.PRIMACY輪胎,平均比競爭對手產生少2kg/t的滾動阻力,相當於每100公里減少耗油量0.21公升,相當於VW Golf 7 1.5 TSI增加5克的二氧化碳排放量,或相當於VW e.Golf續航力提升達7%。

您正在使用我們不支援的網頁瀏覽器
本網站不支援您正在使用的網頁瀏覽器。因此部分功能或未能正常運作,瀏覽時可能會發生不明問題。請使用或升級至/安裝以下的瀏覽器,以全面享用本網站的功能。